Questionable CPA request

Practical and Practice issues for Professionals who practice in the area of taxation. Moral, social and economic issues relating to taxes, including international issues, the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, state tax issues, etc. Not for "tax protestor" issues, which should be posted in the "tax protestor" forum above. The advice or opinion given herein should not be relied on for any purpose whatsoever. Also examines cookie-cutter deals that have no economic substance but exist only to generate losses, as marketed by everybody from solo practitioner tax lawyers to the major accounting firms.
Arthur Rubin
Tupa-O-Quatloosia

Questionable CPA request

Post by Arthur Rubin »

On JustAnswer, the following question was asked in the "Tax" category. All misspellings and capitalizations are in the original. Only the name of the CPA is redacted:
I AM A CPA AND ONE MY MY CLIENTS WHO OWNED A CLOSELY HELD RESTAURANT CORPORATION IN NJ DIED AFTER CONTRACTING CORONAVIRUS IN MARCH 2020. HIS RESIDENCE WAS OWNED 100% BY HIS SPOUSE. HIS BUSINESS WAS OWNED 100% BY HIM AND THE PROPERTY OF THE BUSINESS WAS CO-OWNED 50-50 BY HE AND HIS BROTHER. HE HAD LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES WHICH NAMED HIS SPOUSE AS BENEFICIARY BUT ALSO HAD A POLICY WHICH NAMED HIS ESTATE AS BENEFICIARY. HE HAD NOMINAL SECURITIES IN HIS OWN NAME. WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE TO FILE A NJ TRANSFER INHERITANCE TAX RETURN -ITR- BASED ON THE ABOVE INFORMATION. [redacted] CPA
Should I report him to the NJ CPA board? Filing NJ inheritance tax returns is something a CPA should know how to do, or at least know how to ask, but ALL CAPITALS?
Arthur Rubin, unemployed tax preparer and aerospace engineer
ImageJoin the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!

Butterflies are free. T-shirts are $19.95 $24.95 $29.95
Pirate Purveyor of the Last Word

Re: Questionable CPA request

Post by . »

Obviously, a capital offense.