Is mental health an excuse?

Discussion of a variety of scams, including dating service scams, cyber-currencies, and other frauds and scams.
Cathulhu
Order of the Quatloos, Brevet First Class

Is mental health an excuse?

Post by Cathulhu »

Having read David's recent abuse of Wes, who has not earned it, I have to ask this of the sharp legal minds here (that leaves you out, Delusional David). Why is insanity considered a defense for awful acts? If I have a rabid animal, I put the poor thing out of its' misery. I have been unkind to David because I hate people who abuse others, and he has a conviction for abusing his own mother. And, no, I most emphatically would not sit down to coffee with him, and do not share the opinion of his harmlessness. He's hurt others before, and I judge people on actions.

So, 'splain this one to me--even as a former mental health professional, back in the misspent youth of being a social worker, I still just don't get it. I think there are some actions so terrible that no excuses should be allowed.
Goodness is about what you do. Not what you pray to. T. Pratchett
Always be a moving target. L.M. Bujold
The Observer
Further Moderator

Re: Is mental health an excuse?

Post by The Observer »

Unfortunately you have a misconception about David. He was never convicted for physical abuse of his mother. He faced charges for such a crime, but the charges were eventually dropped. Of course David will be happy to provide you with his explanation of how he won, but I would recommend taking that story with a large grain of salt.