esmithers1 at losthorizons

A collection of old posts from all forums. No new threads or new posts in old threads allowed. For archive use only.
Famspear
Knight Templar of the Sacred Tax

esmithers1 at losthorizons

Post by Famspear »

From esmithers1 at losthorizons, in the thread entitled Where are all the CtC savvy tax attorneys?, who writes:
Taxdoc,

I am an attorney in New York and know and follow CtC. The issue you have with attorneys is that 1. they have to be licensed in your state to officially help you 2. they have to be open minded enough to read and understand CtC and 3. they have to know at least two general areas of law (Tax and litigation) which in general do not converge daily EXCEPT with tax attorneys who are least likely to want to help because CtC is an affront to their daily bread.
http://www.losthorizons.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=1149

No, one does not need to know litigation in order to understand CtC. Absolutely not. A knowledge of federal tax law, however, is definitely helpful in understanding CtC.

I am open minded enough to read and understand CtC. I have not read the book itself, but I have read large portions of the losthorizons web site. If losthorizons is representative of CtC, then I understand CtC. I do not need to read the book. Any tax lawyer who is psychologically normal will conclude that CtC (at least, as presented on the losthorizons web site) is a scam, and is legally frivolous.
I have a friend from law school who practices tax law but also who refuses to read the book. His "research" consists of going to the IRS website and reading up on what they say about CtC.
Reading the IRS web site alone does not generally constitute any meaningful sort of tax research. That does not change the fact that you are wrong about the merit of CtC (and, apparently, your friend sees the CtC scam for what it is).