The Sadness of Delusions

Moderators: Prof, Judge Roy Bean

LPC
Trusted Keeper of the All True FAQ

The Sadness of Delusions

Post by LPC »

I was chatting with someone in a store a few weeks ago and, when I mentioned I was a trust and estates lawyer, he said he had a trust problem he'd like to consult with me about.

Well, he called yesterday and, as he was describing the problem, I suddenly realized he had said something about treasury bills secured by his birth certificate. I let him talk on a while longer, hoping I had mis-heard him, but he said a few more things that were clearly redemption-type phrases, including a reference to him being tax exempt, and I finally realized that I was talking to a natural, home-grown, sovereign-citizen type crazy.

Not knowing how to explain it gently or persuasively, I told him flat out that what he was saying was crazy, and he was the victim of a scam.

He talked for awhile longer about his financial problems and personal problems, and all the research and work he had done on these trusts and all of the paperwork, and it was clear to me that, despite having already been kicked by a mule two or three times, he hadn't yet learned anything. He still thought that there was some value there if he could just find the right filing or the right document to fix whatever he had done wrong.

So I told him as firmly but gently as I could that I could not help him. And I wished him luck and the conversation ended.

And I still feel sad about it. From the point of view of legal education, I was probably the ideal person to help him, but it's not about law and not about education, and I didn't want to waste my time trying.
Dan Evans
Foreman of the Unified Citizens' Grand Jury for Pennsylvania
(And author of the Tax Protester FAQ: evans-legal.com/dan/tpfaq.html)
"Nothing is more terrible than ignorance in action." Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.
NYGman
Admiral of the Quatloosian Seas

Re: The Sadness of Delusions

Post by NYGman »