My own experience with a "Sovrun"

Moderators: Prof, Judge Roy Bean

Unidyne
Admiral of the Quatloosian Seas

My own experience with a "Sovrun"

Post by Unidyne »

I'm not a lawyer, but I did have a run-in with a Sovereign back in 1994. It was my introduction to the 'logic" these folks have, and inspired me to do some research on these folks.

In 1994, I was looking for work and got a gig through a temp agency. A man, let's call him "Sovereign Sam", was working in the warehouse permamantly where I was temping, and his conversations were loaded with all sorts of conspiracy theories and the like. The slightest reference to anything he had "inside knowledge" of, he would start weaving a rug about how the (Illuminati/Rothchilds/et al) was behind it.

After three weeks, my stint ended, and I was sent to a few other appointments. Finally, I was sent to a firm with several other temps and, lo and behold, there was "Sovereign Sam" himself! I didn't ask why the warehouse let him go, since I was certain that he'd find some conspiracy to blame it on.

Part of the job involved taking glass panels and using a belt sander to remove the sharp edges, which involves wearing gloves, a respirator mask and goggles. As I was sweeping the floor on the other side of the room, I saw Sam at the belt sander, sans goggles and respirator. I dashed over, shut off the belt sander, and told him to get his safety gear on before the Department Manager saw him. He smiled and said he didn't need them because he was (his term) "government exempt".

How being a Sovereign Citizen was going to keep glass dust out of your eyes and lungs went beyond me, so I just waited for the Manager to show up...but he never did.