"How you become liable..." (to § 6702 ?)

jg
Fed Chairman of the Quatloosian Reserve

"How you become liable..." (to § 6702 ?)

Post by jg »

As seen at http://www.losthorizons.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=1278 a site entitled "How you become liable..." says in part:
"I'm not very good at understanding these things..." That's why we reduced the basic facts to a quiz. We'll take you one step at a time. You read each question and give the answer you think is best. Guess if you don't know! Then see the correct answer and the reason why it is correct. Instant feedback--that's the best way to learn.

"Well, this might be your opinion, but..."
Everything here is based on the tax laws and the Constitution. No opinions, just facts. Along the way we'll give you some excerpts from the law and Supreme Court decisions. You're not going to argue with the Supreme Court, are you?

So what are you waiting for? The truth is a click away...
Okay, let's play.
Question 1

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The first thing about the 'income tax' to get straight is what is being taxed.
The subject of the income tax (the thing upon which the tax is laid) is:
A) The income itself
B) The person receiving the income
C) The activity that produced the income
Of course, having read Section 1 of Title 26 (which says "There is hereby imposed on the taxable income of—" I chose "A) The income itself" as the best of the three choices given.
We all know it is "taxable income" on which the tax is imposed (IF WE CAN READ THE STATUTE), so the correct answer is not even listed as an answer.

The reply on the site following my response was:
Question 1

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

INCORRECT
The subject of the income tax (the thing upon which the tax is laid) is:
Correct answer:

C) The activity that produced the income

Discussion: