Poking around the 'net and I hear you are meanies

ChezJfrey

Poking around the 'net and I hear you are meanies

Post by ChezJfrey »

Interesting pastime you guys have here, chasing the TP crowd :) Thought I'd sign up and pose a few of my thoughts after perusing your topic of choice -- tax.

For disclosure, I am not a lawyer, but rather a software programmer with an undergrad degree in accounting. Reading this forum, I would agree with a post indicating direct vs. indirect taxation and apportionment is moot, considering the 16th amendment renders the end result of our current income taxation the same, either way. I also saw a post reminding TPs that they are obliged adherence to both written and adjudicated law, yet they are still free to argue that tax law is unfair in a proper venue; my opinion posits that there are some elements that might be unfair and I think it could be useful for our Congress to accept those elements as valid and address them. My points are relatively minor and elaborated a bit later. However, given the tendency of our system to act as a ratchet, never receding from greater purchase, I won’t be holding my breath. Another post presented the idea that accession of wealth obtained from labor warrants income taxation, and I agree with that point.