Airline pilot CtCer can't find a lawyer

A collection of old posts from all forums. No new threads or new posts in old threads allowed. For archive use only.
Famspear
Knight Templar of the Sacred Tax

Airline pilot CtCer can't find a lawyer

Post by Famspear »

Posting by a new user called "rwelzel" at losthorizons -- apparently "Robert Welzel":
Hi Everyone,

First post, but an avid reader. So I thought I would provide a little back ground.

I am an airline pilot and flew years ago with Vernie Kuglin; my adventure into this arena was as a non-filer. In that venue, I sued the US under 7433 in May 2006. During the fall of 2006, I was first exposed to CTC and became convinced that Pete was right, so I collected all my data and filed CTC returns getting most of the same responses many others are getting.

I would like to observe that I believe that the main reason the IRS rejects our returns as "frivolous" has nothing to do with the definition of "frivolous" but rather some defect in our return. Either a math error or an omission or some small defect that any other return would receive the "math error notice" or audit, or some other method of correcting the inconsistency. In our case, the IRS (from a tactical perspective) has no down side to simply declaring them "frivolous" because it is almost impossible to deal with and allows them to continue all other enforcement actions.

In March of 2007 my case was dismissed for failure to exhaust administrative remedies. I filed a motion for reconsideration based upon a Supreme Court case from Jan 2008 that found the exhaustion was a positive defense for the jury. In March 2008, the judge (Reggie Walton -- Scooter Libby's judge) REINSTATED my case in a minute order refering mostly to his Memorandum Opinion which has yet to be published.