Johannus Boots - Artist and Failed Freeman

Moderator: Burnaby49

Burnaby49
Quatloosian Ambassador to the CaliCanadians
Quatloosian Ambassador to the CaliCanadians

Johannus Boots - Artist and Failed Freeman

Post by Burnaby49 »

Or at least a failure at using Freeman tactics to keep himself out of jail. By profession he is an artist. You can check that out here but be warned; his art, at least in my opinion, is terrible. Derivative New Age rubbish with the main gimmick hiding animals and people in the foliage, clouds, rocks, whatever. He did note at his trial that he was in financial difficulty because sales are down so perhaps my opinion reflects the market;

http://www.johannusboots.com/

Anyhow, why is he posted here? Because of a 21 day sentence for obstruction of justice after refusing to co-operate with police at a routine traffic stop. Standard Freeman stuff, refusing to identify himself, driving without a license or insurance, having to be physically removed from his car, the full "Freakin' Idiot" Brian Alexander.

At trial his defense seemed to straight Freeman but with the disclaimer that he did not consider himself a Freeman, a toxic badge of identity in Canadian court nowadays;
Among other things, Mr. Boots appealed to the right of freedom of movement as a defense. However, Section 6 of the Charter does not guarantee the right to operate a motor vehicle. Mr. Boots ascribes to the belief that birth certificates and other forms of government registration are used to enslave or control citizens. This is a form of pseudo-legal argument derived from the common "freeman-on-the-land" movement, though Mr. Boots does not identify himself as a freeman or belong to any such organization.
His explanation for using Freeman tactics, if true, shows his own assessment of his chances;